Tuesday, July 31

Five Fun Facts

I like to get to know the authors behind their books. This week on Wordwranglers, we're doing a little get to know us introduction. I'll tell you five fun facts, and I'd like you to do the same.

1. I've been married 29 years.

2. I grew up half time in Colorado, and half time in Arizona.

3. I've written 15 books, although not all have been published.

4. I have competed in barrel racing, team penning and competitive trail riding.

5. My very favorite thing to do is trail ride with my daughter.


  1. I'll follow your trail...

    1. I've been married 14 years.
    2. I grew up on the central coast of California
    3. I've written 5 books, not all published either :)
    4. I've competed in team penning, team sorting, and reining.
    5. My favorite thing to do is go on vacation with my family.

    FUN POST!!!

  2. We've seen a lot of me already, but...

    1. I've been married 41 years.

    2. I grew up in North Central Indiana, about 5 miles from where I've lived for the last 35 years.

    3. I have no idea how many manuscripts I've finished, but books six and seven are coming up.

    4. I was in 4-H and placed in the county spelling bee a couple of years, but I'm pretty much non-competitive.

    5. My favorite thing to do is--I don't know yet. I just keep doing different things.

  3. 1. I was married 40 years 9 months and 11 days when my husband died.

    2. Born and raised in Texas, but travled To Germany, OK, and HI while in the military with my husband.

    3. I've written a lot of stuff finished one but still reworking it. Nothing published YET.

    4. Once I learned to read it was on. I couldn't stop reading.

    5. Favorite thing is playing computer games on and offline then reading.

  4. Geez, you guys make this look easy.

    1. I've been married 7 years. I keep telling everyone 8 because we've been together 8 years and I forgot. Ooops. Close enough, right?
    2. I was born in Missouri, but I spent the first five years of my life in Oklahoma. We moved back to MO right before I started kindergarten.
    3. I used to have a terrible Okie accent as a result. When I get really tired or relaxed, it comes back.
    4. I just bought socks for my dog. I don't really know why, except they were on clearance.
    5. I'm getting ready to start the 4th book in my series. Woohoo!

    1. The socks for your dog are too funny, Allison. :)

  5. This is fun :)
    1. I've lived in Michigan my entire life and love the changes of season.
    2. I have 3 kids, 2 dogs and 2 cats (and a hubby)
    3. I've completed 3 manuscripts and 2 are published and I have a few partials I need to finish up :)
    4. I own 2 vintage cars that were my parents.
    5. I'm a night owl and tend to stay up late.

  6. Love this!
    1. I've been married 22 years this month to the best man ever (he cleans bathrooms and mops and vacuums).

    2. I have 3 kids and 2 dogs

    3. I have no idea how many manuscripts I've written but books 12 and 13 are being released in 2013.

    4. I've lived all my life in Ohio (except for 1 year in Missouri) and I DON'T want to retire in Ohio.

    5. Besides writing I'm obsessed with makeup.

  7. I've been married for 19 yrs.

    I grew up on a small farm in West Central PA and now live in the suburbs in in Central PA.

    I have two kids--my son will be 16 in October and my daughter will be 12 in 2 weeks.

    I've been writing to get pubbed for four years and completed five books, four of which are contracted.

    I used to be a secondary social studies teacher, but now work as a medical secretary at an Army health clinic.

  8. Ha, I feel like mines going to be sort of sad here. Lol. Btw love that picture of you and what I assume if your daughter, D'Ann.

    1. Right. So married 0 years. (Never married, or plan to)

    2. I grew up and live in Mobile, Alabama along the coast. However, I do get out as much as possible.

    3. I have 0 books published. I am working on 1. (Newbie here)

    4. I studied to be a European diplomat. (Apparently that didn't work out since I'm in Alabama, eh?)

    5. I like to make up my own words.

    1. European diplomat! Very cool. I'm sure that comes in handy in your writing.

    2. Melissa, I lived near Mobile in Irvington, AL for 12 years. Loved living there. Dauphin Island was so close! Miss the beach. Best wishes with your writing!

  9. 1. Married for almost 8 years.
    2. Born in Oklahoma, raised in Texas. Moved to Lindale, TX two weeks ago.
    3. No books published. I have gotten rejections.
    4. Just submitted another story to Lori Perkins.
    5. I'm a cougar. Yes, husband is 7 years younger than me.


  10. You go, Marika! 7 years younger! :)

    1. I've been married 21 years.
    2. Born and raised in central Virginia and now live on the coast.
    3. I competed in the National Fencing Championships when I was a
    senior in High School.
    4. I've written 6 full length novels and 5 short stories/novellas,
    6 of which have been published/contracted. More in the making.
    5. I finally (recently) went commando in public (upper only).

    Fun post, D'Ann!

  11. Fun times, D!

    1--I've been married 28 years
    2--I've lived in Longbeach, CA, Waukegan, IL, Norfolk, VA, Keflavik, Iceland, but spent the majority of my life in my hometown of Vancouver WA--which by checking out the National weather is the perfect place to be these days. And yes, I was a Navy brat.
    3--I've completed about 8 books and none have been published.
    4--I've competed in softball. That is the only sport I was coordinated enough to master to some degree.
    5--My favorite thing to do. Spontaneous road trip with my sister because we laugh so much.

  12. Love this idea - and I didn't know you competed in barrel racing!! How did I not know that?!?

    My 5:

    I've been married 13 years
    I've lived in Missouri, Nebraska and Ohio...and plan to retire to a beach in Mexico
    I love photography, the more artsy the better
    I'm a much better baker than dinner-cooker
    My favorite thing - ever - is hanging with my daughter (who just turned 4)

  13. 1. I've been married 7 years.
    2. I moved so much growing up that I don't have a home town.
    3. I have eight books out, and I don't even know how many I'm written! (Many, many more than that.)
    4. If you gave me a barrel and a horse, I'd probably maim myself.
    5. My favorite thing to do is plot a new book.... Oh, and, of course, hanging out with my four year old. I can do them both at once. ;)

  14. Hello, Thanks for inviting us to share!

    1. I live in NW Colorado, but am from the deep, deep South.
    2. I love the Lord and my husband of 23 years.
    3. My first book, a novella, Southern Fried Christmas, will makes its debut sometime in October published by White Rose Publishing.
    4. Photography and learning to play the guitar are my current hobbies.
    5. I've written 2 novels, am half-way through the third, and 3/4-way through a novella--hoping to get them all published one day.

  15. May Five.

    I've lived in CO, MO, IL, KS, CA, and visited all 50 states atleast once.
    I've written several books and now think I have POV down. Have one completed to be edited. Two going strong toward the finish line.
    I submitted a short article and it got pubbed last Dec. More to short pieces to submit.
    Just learn critique partner is very ill. In addition for two years in a row I saw a few pages or a couple chapters of manuscripts which produced two Golden Heart Winners and I live in the sticks.